This is the documentation for SuperSTAR 9.8

SuperSTAR 9.9 is now available.
View this page in the SuperSTAR 9.9 documentation or visit the SuperSTAR 9.9 documentation home.

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

This section describes how to upgrade SuperCHANNEL from a previous version of the software. To do this you need to remove the current installation first.

If you require assistance with an upgrade contact support to find out about Space-Time Research's Upgrade Service. For more information, refer to www.spacetimeresearch.com .

  1. Open the Windows Control Panel.
  2. Select Add or Remove Programs or Uninstall a Program (depending on your Windows version).
  3. Select SuperCHANNEL and click Change/Remove or Uninstall.

    A window similar to the following will display:

    The warning message may be slightly different depending on your Windows version.

  4. Click Yes.

    The Setup Status dialog displays.

    When finished the Uninstall Complete dialog displays.

  5. Click Finish or OK (depending on your Windows version). 
  6. Before you can install the new version, you will need to make sure that you remove any remaining files from the SuperCHANNEL program files (C:\Program Files\STR\SuperCHANNEL) and program data (C:\ProgramData\STR\SuperCHANNEL) directories.

    There may still be files in these directories because the uninstallation process does not remove any modified files (such as configuration files that you have modified, JDBC drivers that you have installed, and log files). You will need to remove these manually.

  7. Follow the instructions to install the new version of SuperCHANNEL.

    Once you have completed the new installation, you will need to reapply any customisations you have made to the SuperCHANNEL settings, and reinstall any JDBC drivers.

    There have been changes to the config.txt configuration file in this release. If you have made changes to the configuration settings then you will need to reapply these changes to the new version of config.txt. Do not attempt to reuse the modified configuration file from your previous installation.